“I’m not stupid, I just live in a foreign country” -What I have to tell myself every single day.

Now that I’ve been in Spain for 2 whole weeks, I am beginning to assimilate myself into the Spanish lifestyle & culture (slowly but surely). It is most definitely a process, and in no way is it easy. But it’s exciting, challenging and well worth it.

I am not sure what you all think of when you think of Spain…maybe it’s bull fights, maybe it’s Tapas, or maybe you just think of me! Spain is a beautiful, old country in Western Europe and has the same luxuries we have in the States. However, people in Spain are much different than people in the US. Let me share some of the interesting things I’ve discovered about Spanish culture along my journey thus far!

Why is there milk in the cabinet?

A very interesting question, I know. It is normal for people in Spain to store their milk in the cabinet, and then put it in the fridge before using it.  I believe their milk is pasteurized and that is why they are able to store it in warm conditions until it’s ready to use….still very strange for me!  (I didn’t have the chance to take a picture of our milk, but it comes in a plastic container like this one…no large gallons or paper cartons!)

milk

Is this a road or a walkway?

P1000325

Probably both. You might think that a small cobblestone street, where everyone is walking in the middle of the road is just for pedestrians. Think again. Little cars and mopeds fit nearly any and everywhere.

When are we going to eat dinner?

Not until 9:30-10:00pm! Meal times are very different in Spain, and I am just beginning to adjust to this. Breakfast is usually around 8:00-9:00am and is very small. Lunch, which is their biggest meal of the day happens between 2:00-3:00pm. Then, a small dinner is served around 9:30-10:00pm. (I promise to do a post about food soon!)

P1000454

While I was in the process of adjusting to meal times, I made a trip the grocery store right up the street from me and purchased some snacks. (Not sure why the toothpaste is in this picture but I needed that too!) I thought these chips were sour-cream and onion flavored when I bought them but I don’t think they are…still good though! And that bar of chocolate (sad to say) is already gone!! I need to get another (or 3) for when I crave something sweet!!

Why/what is that hanging from the ceiling?

P1000548

That would be “jamon”…or “ham” when translated to English. I’m not sure why it has to be hanging from the ceiling in almost every restaurant/tapas/grocery store, but it is! They eat a LOT of jamon here and I guess they like to use it for decorations too??!

Am I in the bike path?

P1000499

 

If you are in the bike path: MOVE! Bikes will stop for NO ONE and you will get hit…or worse, they will ring their bike-bell at you!! Seville has bike paths all over the city because so many people ride bikes to get places. It’s their own lane designated just for bikers (kind of a nice idea) but confusing when you are walking down the street. The bike lanes are marked by circles on the ground, so if you are ever in doubt, look around for one of these!

P1000500

What is that?

P1000554

So this contraption is in the bathroom Kayla and I share in our home-stay. Two weeks and we are still not sure what it is. We’ve guessed it’s a bidet but it doesn’t quite seem like one. Your guess is as good as mine.

How far of a walk is it?!!

P1000440

Through Triana, across the bridge, down the street, through Puerta Jerez….Just keep walking. Walking is EVERYHING here. I’m not sure how women do it in heels, when I can barely keep up in my boots! Like I’ve said before, it takes about 40 minutes for me to walk to school, but that is average for most people in Seville!

& to go along with walking….

Why does everyone walk so slow?!

Maybe it’s an American thing, maybe it’s a New England thing, or maybe I just get it from my Dad…but when I have someplace to go, I walk relatively quick to get there! On multiple occasions, Kayla and I have heard Spanish kids and people comment on how fast we are walking! Here, most people don’t walk…they stroll. No one is in a big rush! I like the idea of walking slow and taking everything in, but walking quickly is a hard habit to break!

Where is the light switch?

P1000553

Maybe this is just our apartment building but our light switches are circular balls that you roll up or down to turn the lights on/off. This is the light switch for our room near my bed. The top part is an outlet (also different here so we have to use converters) and the bottom is the light switch.

When are they going to bring the check?

Never. Or at least not until you ask for it! In the US we are used to a waitress/waiter bringing the check over when we are finished eating (sometimes even before) but here in Spain it is uncommon for a server to bring you the check before you request it. That is because Spanish people spend a great deal of time eating, talking and enjoying their time with friends when they go to a restaurant. Nothing is very rushed here, so you can ask for the check when you are ready.

P1000049

And of course no one teaches you this, so you learn one night when you are out with friends and the check never comes…We all learned this while we were out to eat in Madrid. We sat there for a pretty long time after we were done eating until finally someone got up to ask for the check. Later on, we figured out that this is what we need to do every time!

What does 16:00 mean?

16:00 means it’s 4:00pm in Spain. My class schedule was in (what we would call) military time, travel itineraries for trips and flights are in this too. For some reason this really bothers me, so I have a cheat sheet on my computer until I get used to it.

P1000556

What is everyone saying to me?

Well there is no clear answer to this question. Living in Seville (& the South of Spain) people have really thick accents here. They leave off the end of words and letters, and sometimes don’t even speak in full sentences but with one or two phrases or words.

Most people in Spain also speak with (what sounds like) a lisp, but isn’t really. What do I mean by this? Try saying “Barcelona” out loud. Now say it like the Spanish do, “Bar-thay-lona”. Or “Plaza Nueva”…now say “Platha Nueva”. Seeing as my high school teacher and college professors have only ever spoken with a Latin American style Spanish, it is definitely a huge adjustment. My most common phrases in Spanish are “Que?” (What?) or “No entiendo” (I don’t understand). Lucky for Kayla and I, our host Mom is very patient and will repeat what she is saying until we get it.

Plaza Mayor2

Strange enough, this picture was taken about two weeks ago in Madrid! Feels like forever ago! Our first full day in Spain, taken in the Plaza Mayor! It’s safe to say that we’re figuring this country out, little by little! It is definitely a huge adjustment living in Spain,  but a worth-while experience. I’ve learned a great deal these past two weeks and I hope to learn a lot more!

So if you plan on visiting Spain, take my advice:  watch out for bikers, buy some snacks and good walking shoes, and take a deep breath: because you’re not stupid, you’re just in a foreign country! xoxo

