Bonjour (again)! I am attempting to complete my Paris blog posts while everything is fresh in my memory!! We did so much in two days, I don’t want to forget a single thing!

Lucky for us, our friend from St. A’s, Niles, is studying abroad in Paris this semester! On Sunday morning we had a plan to meet outside Notre Dame at 11:30 to meet up and see the city together!

norte dame

P1020067

It was really great to see someone from home!! Niles mapped out our whole day and we headed out walking around the city & catching up!!

P1020045

Just like the Spanish know how to do Plazas, the French know how to do gardens! First stop, the Gardens of Luxembourg!

luxembourg

In all honesty, I’m not sure of all the places we walked around to! All I can say is that Paris is beautiful, everywhere you go!! We visited the Latin Quarters, some small shopping markets, the Jewish quarters and the outside of the Modern Art Museum.

P1020074

P1020056

P1020057

P1020061

P1020083

The weather on Sunday was a little wild, first sun, then rain, then sun, then hail! It was so on and off again! After walking around for a couple of hours we stopped for breaks when the weather got strange. I tried a French chocolate croissant during one break, it was very good! Outside the Modern Art museum, we got drinks together and talked about our study abroad adventures during another rain shower! Of course, I got wine…when in France, right!

With a little pep in our step from the alcohol, we decided to venture up to Montmartre, a hill in the Northern part of Paris that overlooks the whole city! It is known for night clubs, artists and Moulin Rouge! Many artists, such as Salvador Dali, Claude Monet, Pablo Picasso and Vincent van Gogh had studios in Montmartre.

P1020085

You might be surprised we were willing to do more stairs after climbing to the top of St. Peter’s Basilica but I think the wine numbed our legs enough so we could do it!

P1020087

Still climbing!!! The white domed church at the top is called Sacre Couer. It was built in the hopes to change Montmartre from being such a party area of the city. They thought that the artists might view the church as God looking down upon their bad behavior and change their ways! I don’t think it worked so well.

When we finally made it to the top, it started raining and fog crept into our view of the city!!

P1020090

We waited out the storm under Sacre Couer, and eventually the sun started to peek out!

view of paris

My pictures (like always) do not do this view justice!! It is worth the hike up!! (Just get a glass-or two- of wine before hand and you’ll be fine!)

montmarte

P1020094

A little foggy still, but we got an amazing view of the Eiffel Tower from Montmartre as well!

P1020096

To this day, it still remains a very artsy district in Paris! Artists come to showcase their work in this plaza! Although Moulin Rouge is located in this area also, we did not stop by because it isn’t in the best neighborhood!

On our way back down from Montmartre, we stopped for a snack! And what’s more French than splitting a baguette! (Big thanks to Niles for showing us around all day!!)

niles and me

Finally, we headed back downtown towards the Arc de Triomphe!

arc de triomphe

This infamous monument in Paris was commissioned by Napoleon so he would have a place to march his troops under it after victory! Unfortunately, they were restoring part of the Arc (top left) so I didn’t get the beautiful picture I had hoped for!

sac

St. A’s takes on Paris!! So happy we got to all meet up! Again, huge thanks to Niles for showing us around all day! We had the best time!!

After walking for nearly 5 hours, we said goodbye to Niles and he pointed us in the direction of the Eiffel Tower (our final stop of the day!) But first, a quick snack!! I had to try a macaroon before leaving Paris!!

macaroon

It was so delicious!!! I highly recommend getting them when you visit! Macaroons might be my new favorite desert!

P1020147

And finally! Here we are!! The Eiffel Tower!! Now maybe you are wondering if we made it to the top. I am sorry to say we did not. We contemplated it for a while, but our feet were so sore from walking all over Paris that we didn’t think we could muster up the energy! The temperature was also beginning to drop quickly as the sun was setting so we opted out of climbing to the top. If we had more time, we would have made it up!

P1020157

After the longest (and best) day in Paris, I felt as if the soles of my feet were bleeding from all the walking we did! As we were on our way to the metro, I actually rolled my ankle on the crooked cobblestone! Unfortunately, by the time we were back at the hostel it was swollen and hurt too bad to walk on! We were hoping to make it out to the light show again Sunday night to meet Niles, but with my swollen ankle, we never made it! I am still very disappointed by my bad luck, but we were blessed with an amazing trip nonetheless, so I cannot complain! (In case anyone is wondering, my foot is getting better after icing and resting it!)

I must say that Paris is everything you dream about and more. The streets are clean and beautiful, the Seine River and bridges are magnificent, the food-delicious, the bread-fresh, and the deserts-to die for. The Eiffel Tower is more incredible than any picture could have prepared me for! I fell in love with the city of Paris and 100% will be going back again soon (hopefully with my Mom)…this time to spend a full day in the Louvre, climb to the top of the Eiffel Tower and eat 100 macaroons.

If you have the chance: VISIT PARIS. Just go, please! It’s amazing and worth seeing! I am so grateful I had the chance to go this past weekend, and very thankful we had a friend to show us around the city! I have dreamed of Paris my entire life (with pictures of the Eiffel Tower hanging on my walls since Middle School) and finally, I made it! Two full days was not nearly enough time! I’m not sure even a week in Paris will do the city justice, but it is a must see!!

Now I am both sad and relieved to say that the next time I will be getting on a place will be to come home in a month! Paris was the last of our big trips, but in two weeks we will be spending time on the gorgeous beaches in Lagos, Portugal! My Mom & my boyfriend’s mom will be coming to visit in April also! And there is Santa Semana (or Holy Week) that is huge here in Seville! I am looking forward to some downtime in Seville, relaxing and enjoying the beautiful weather in this beautiful city I call home! I promise to keep posts coming during this last month! I cannot believe how quickly the time has gone by! Thanks for joining me along this incredible journey!

P1020142

Au Revoir Paris, I will be back to see you soon! xoxo

 

