beach4

I know it seems too beautiful to be real, but this is Dona Ana Beach, in Lagos, Portugal–where I spent last weekend! I know most of my travels have been to old, historic cities, but for my last trip I decided to slow down a bit and relax. What better place to do that than here??

Remember the group I went to Morocco with, Discover Excursions? Well, they also do a trip to Lagos! Kayla and I planned this as our last trip to relax after all our hectic travels and hopefully get a tan before heading home for good. Friday morning we were beach bound and it was only about a 3 hour drive from Seville! I highly recommend going if you’re in the South of Spain!

Lucky for us, our hotel was right on this beautiful beach and we spent a couple hours Friday afternoon relaxing and enjoying the views. Around 4pm our guides took us on a hike along the cliffs of the coast! (We thought that it was going to be more of a walk-hike, but it was actually a real hike!! We had to climb up and down the rocky cliffs!!)

beach3

But it was worth the view!!

P1020214

Looking back towards our hotel and beach! (It was a little cloudy Friday afternoon/Saturday morning, but we made the best of it!)

P1020211

You know I’ve conquered my fear of heights when I walk along the edge of a cliff! I even looked down to take this picture!! (I don’t know if my Dad will believe this…!)

me

But here’s proof of me standing along the edge of the cliff! Stunning view of the crystal blue water in the background!

P1020242

After a while, we finally climbed down some stairs to get a view of some of the grottos!

kayla and me2

The hike was incredibly beautiful, and well worth all the strenuous exercise climbing rocky cliffs!

panoramic

After a quick siesta, we headed to the city center for dinner. Kayla and I stopped at a place recommended to us by our guides called “Nah Nah Bah.” It’s actually home to one of the world’s top 50 burgers, the Toucan Burger!! So obviously you know what I ordered…

burger

It was so good–a strange mixture of sweet/salty because it had pineapple on it! I can’t remember the last time I had a burger, tasted like summer and home!! I highly recommend this place, it’s a very cool atmosphere with great food!

After this we headed out for the night for drinking & dancing!!

boat2

Saturday morning we left the hotel at 10:30am! Kayla and I had signed up for an optional boat cruise along the coast! Although it was cloudy, it was an amazing time! Smaller boats took groups of us on tours of the grotto’s! Some people even jumped off the boat to swim but it was a little too cold for me! There was also endless amounts of Sangria for us…

sangria boat cruise

boat

kayla and me

After the boat cruise we headed to another beach in Lagos, this one was much bigger than Dona Ana! After all that sangria, Kayla and I took a nice long nap!! (The back of my legs got a little burned…woops!) After waking up, we played a game of volleyball with some people in our group and then headed back to the hotel!

That evening, we took an hour bus ride to the most Southwest point of Portugal to see the sunset at “the end of the world”. The real name is Cabo de Sao Vicente, but in the older days it was considered to be the end of the world because they believed nothing was beyond this point!

sunset3

sunset

P1020310

We all sat along the rocky cliffs and watched the sunset over the Atlantic. It was so beautiful, words and pictures do not do it justice!

sunset2

Just hanging out at the end of the world!

P1020313

After the sun (majestically) set over the water, we headed back to the city center for dinner and drinks!

Our last day in Lagos, Kayla and I decided to relax on the beach all day! There were optional excursions to go kayaking or surfing, but we both wanted a day to rest on the beach!

beach2

Lucky for us, the weather on Sunday was amazing! Not a single cloud in the sky!! I definitely got some color while laying out, and even went swimming twice!

P1020337

I still can’t get over how beautiful Lagos was. It felt like I jumped into a postcard for the weekend, and was living in paradise! The water was so clear you could see your feet at the bottom! Sunday afternoon, it was very difficult to say goodbye to this paradise, but I know that I will find my way back here someday!

Although this was my last trip, I still have some fun things to look forward to my last 3 weeks here so expect some more posts!! My Mom and Mrs. Schulze are coming to visit this Friday for a week (so excited to see them both)!! It is also Holy Week, and Sevilla is known for it’s many festivities during Easter time! I also plan on taking a beach trip or two, to the city of Cadiz, home to some of the most beautiful beaches in the South of Spain! I can’t believe how fast my time has gone by here! Although I miss home, I’m not ready to leave Spain just yet!

Like I said before, there’s something very calming about being on a beach! (Especially one that looks as beautiful as this!) I had an incredible weekend, relaxing, drinking and soaking up the sun with good company!

beach

“When you lose yourself…you find the key to paradise”

xoxo

 

 

